Staff

Meet the staff at Pottawattamie Conservation.
Administration Environmental Education Land Management Park Rangers Show All

Mark Shoemaker

Executive Director
mark.shoemaker@pottcounty-ia.gov
(712) 328-5638

Executive Director oversees all park operations including staff members and their training, develops short and long term operation and acquisition plans and budgets.

Read Bio

Michelle Biodrowski

Naturalist
michelle.biodrowski@pottcounty-ia.gov
(712) 328-5834

Naturalists are responsible for the development, presentation, coordination, promotion, and scheduling of environmental education programming including in-school presentations, field trips, summer camps, and public programs.

Read Bio

Amy Campagna

Environmental Education Coordinator
amy.campagna@pottcounty-ia.gov
712-242-1189

The Environmental Education Coordinator oversees all daily operations of the Environmental Education Department.

Jon Fenner

Botna Bend Park Ranger
jon.fenner@pottcounty-ia.gov
(712) 741-5465

Botna Bend Park Ranger is responsible for maintenance of Botna Bend Park as well as the care and management of the elk and bison herds and also the management of Old Town Park and the Farm Creek Public Wildlife Area.

Read Bio

Dave Fischer

Arrowhead Park Ranger
david.fischer@pottcounty-ia.gov
(712) 485-2295

Arrowhead Park Ranger handles park and campground maintenance, supervision and scheduling of staff and rentals.

Read Bio

Jeff Franco

Operations Supervisor
jeff.franco@pottcounty-ia.gov
(712) 328-5831

Operations Supervisor manages and directs the day-to-day operations of Hitchcock Nature Center and Narrows River Park and coordinates the efforts of both parks as well as our Environmental Education and Natural Areas Management Departments.

Read Bio

Chad Graeve

Natural Resource Specialist
chad.graeve@pottcounty-ia.gov
(712) 545-3283 x5832

Natural Resource Specialist is responsible for natural areas management on all county owned properties and operation of private lands program.

Read Bio

Chad Kunze

Hitchcock Nature Center Park Ranger
chad.kunze@pottcounty-ia.gov
(712) 545-3283 x5833

Hitchcock Nature Center Park Ranger is responsible for park and campground maintenance, law enforcement and staff supervision.

Read Bio

Ryan Penney

Narrows River Park Ranger
ryan.penney@pottcounty-ia.gov
(402) 490-1290

Narrows River Park Ranger is responsible for overseeing day-to-day operations of the park including law enforcement, guest services, maintenance and shelter rentals.

Read Bio

Aric Ping

Natural Resources Technician
aric.ping@pottcounty-ia.gov
712-328-5836

The Natural Resources Technician is responsible for assisting the Natural Resource Specialist with development and implementation of land management plans and presentation of education programs and projects that promote conservation ethics, natural resource appreciation and county parks, facilities, and properties.

Read Bio

Kate Simmons

Community Relations Coordinator
katherine.simmons@pottcounty-ia.gov
(712) 328-5830

Community Relations Coordinator is responsible for the overall promotional and communications support for Pottawattamie County Conservation. This includes the coordination of volunteer programs, social media management, and support for all Pottawattamie Conservation parks and departments.

Read Bio

Rene Stroud

Naturalist
rene.stroud@pottcounty-ia.gov
(712) 242-1197

Naturalists are responsible for the development, presentation, coordination, promotion, and scheduling of environmental education programming including in-school presentations, field trips, summer camps and public programs.

Read Bio

Cory Thomas

Assistant Park Ranger
cjthomas@pottcounty-ia.gov
(402) 676-4507

Botna Bend Park Assistant Park Ranger is responsible for maintenance of Botna Bend Park as well as the care and management of the elk and bison herds and also the management of Old Town Park and the Farm Creek Public Wildlife Area.

Read Bio

Kim Wickersham

Administrative Assistant
kimberly.wickersham@pottcounty-ia.gov
712-328-5638

The Administrative Assistant is responsible for providing administrative support services and assistance to the Conservation Board Executive Director and conservation staff members.

Read Bio

Kody Wohlers

Natural Resources Technician
kody.wohlers@pottcounty-ia.gov
(712) 545-3283 x5749

Natural Rescources Technician is responsible for operating the machinery maintenance program, assisting with prescribed fire operation, supervising interns, performing facilities development and assisting with natural areas management.

Read Bio

Get a full year of free access to all Pottawattamie County parks.

Become a member of the Pottawattamie Conservation Foundation